About About Us
Theme Exhibition About Us Hugo Awards Committee and Staff Code of Conduct Accessibility Services Volunteer Privacy Policy Refunds and Transfers Guests of Honor Program
About Us/ 关于我们

Guests of Honor for 2023 Chengdu Worldcon


Liu Cixin

Liu Cixin is the most well-known science fiction writer in China, whose science fiction stories succeeded in combining imagination with reality and thinking philosophically while expressing scientific beauty. His novel The Three Body Problem won the 73rd Hugo Award for Best Novel, which is the first time that an Asian writer has won this award. In addition, his novel Death’s End (The Three-Body Problem Series, 3) won the Locus Award for Science Fiction Novel, and a series of short stories such as Take Her Eyes and The Wandering Earth won The Galaxy Award, the China’s most prestigious science fiction award, for eight consecutive years. He was also awarded the Clarke Award for Imagination in Service to Society in 2018, becoming the first Chinese to receive this award.



Robert James Sawyer

Robert J. Sawyer — called “the dean of Canadian science fiction” by The Ottawa Citizen — has won 66 awards for his fiction, including the bestnovel Hugo, Nebula, and John W. Campbell Awards (for Hominids, The Terminal Experiment, and Mindscan, respectively), and he has 12 additional Hugo nominations to his credit. His novels have been translated into 20 languages and have cumulatively spent more than five years on the Locus bestsellers lists. The TV series FlashForward was based on his Aurora Award-winning novel of the same name. In 2007, Rob received China's Galaxy Award for mostpopular foreign author, and in 2016, he was made a member of The Order of Canada, his country's highest honour; he was the first person ever to be so honoured for work in the science-fiction field.



Sergey Lukianenko

Sergey Lukianenko is one of the most famous Russian science fiction and fantasy writers, the Best Writer of the 2003 European Science Fiction Convention, and the Best Writer of the 2006 Russian Science Fiction Convention. He has received numerous literary awards, including the Starbridge Award, the Wanderer Award and the Russian Science Fiction Award. His The Night Watchman Series has developed into movies and computer games.